CFAES Give Today
Academic Programs

College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences


CFAES Staff Advisory Council honors four

The CFAES Staff Advisory Council (SAC) held its annual luncheon Nov. 21 in the Ohio Union’s Cartoon Room to honor four staff members nominated by their peers for excellence.

Ron Hendrick, senior associate dean of CFAES, provided the opening remarks, including thanking SAC and congratulating the award winners.

The annual awards include the Shirley Brooks-Jones Citizenship Award, which is named to honor Shirley Brooks-Jones for her extraordinary works throughout the world. Shirley’s name brings enormous prestige to this award. She is recognized as the epitome of excellence for her active involvement and outstanding service during her tenure at Ohio State. She is a role model for countless staff, faculty and students. This momentous award recognizes outstanding citizenship activities by a CFAES staff member. 

There also are three Above and Beyond Awards: the Key Values Award for dedication, cooperation and apositive attitude in the workplace; the Innovation Award for developing and/or participating in project initiatives and/or process operations improvements that enhance CFAES, OSU Extension, ATI or OARDC and their missions; and the Special Recognition Award for having special commitment to tasks, positive customer service and improving workplace communication.

The 2013 CFAES Staff Advisory Council award recipients are:

  • Shirley Brooks-Jones Citizenship Award: Candy McBride, graduate student coordinator in Food, Agricultural, and Biological Engineering. 
  • Above and Beyond Award, Key Values Award: Amanda Rysz, office administrative associate in Family and Consumer Sciences Extension Administration.
  • Above and Beyond Award, Innovation Award: Lee Ann Johnson, office administrative associate in OSU Extension's South Central Region Office.
  • Above and Beyond Award, Special Recognition: Cindy Shelly, account clerk in Ohio State ATI's Business Office.

Our congratulations to all four winners.

For details about SAC, click here.