What is an Internship?

General Considerations for Developing an Internship Program:

Internship Programs should provide students with a career related work experience, which support students in defining their career path. The internship enables students to gain experience and assess “fit” of a specific industry, acquire life skills and professional skills, access to professional contacts and networking, and to integrate knowledge from coursework into an industry or real-world setting. 

The Ohio State University Buckeye Career’s identifies several components of a Successful Internship Experience:

  • The experience has a defined beginning and end and includes a job description with desired qualifications.
  • Clearly defined learning objectives and goals related to the professional goals of the student’s academic coursework.
  • Supervision by a professional with expertise and educational and/or professional background in the field of the experience.
  • Regular performance feedback provided by the experienced supervisor.

If you are considering an unpaid internship, you should familiarize yourself with Fair Labor Standards Act guidelines.

Academic Credit for an internship must be approved by the Department Internship Coordinator. See below for a list of CFAES Department Internship Coordinators:

Agribusiness and Applied Economics- Anna Parkman, parkman.6@osu.edu

Agricultural Communication- Emily Wickham, wickham.24@osu.edu

Agricultural Education- Dr. Susie Whittington, whittington.1@osu.edu

Agricultural Systems Management- Dr. Dewey Mann, mann.309@osu.edu

Animal Science- Dr. Maurice L. Eastridge, eastridge.1@osu.edu

Community Leadership- Dr. Jeff King, king.20@osu.edu

Construction Systems Management- Mac Ware, ware.260@osu.edu

Entomology- Dr. Joe Raczkowski, raczkowski.2@osu.edu

Food, Agricultural, and Biological Engineering- Dr. Michael Lichtensteiger, lichtensteiger.2@osu.edu

Food Science and Technology - Dr. Mary Kay Pohlschneider, pohlschneider.1@osu.edu

Horticulture & Crop Sciences: Professional Golf Management- Timothy Kerr, kerr.176@osu.edu

Horticulture & Crop Sciences: Sustainable Plant Systems- Regina Vann Hickok, vann.5@osu.edu

Plant Pathology- Dr. Monica Lewandowski, lewandowski.52@osu.edu

School of Environment and Natural Resources- Trish Raridan Preston, raridan-preston.1@osu.edu