Internships for Academic Credit

Internship Programs should provide students with a career related work experience, which support students in defining their career path. The internship enables students to gain experience and assess “fit” of a specific industry, acquire life skills and professional skills, access to professional contacts and networking, and to integrate knowledge from coursework into an industry or real-world setting. 

Internships NOT for Credit are highly encouraged. Experiential learning can confirm your career path or set you on a new one. If you need assistance finding one, consider setting up a meeting with a Career Advisor by calling 614-292-6891. 

Internships for Academic Credit must be approved by the student's Department Internship Coordinator. To receive credit consider the following:

  1. Find an internship! Your Career Development Office is a great place to start.
    Note: Career Advising appointments are being held virtually at this time.
    Call 614-292-6891 to set up an appointment and indicate the type of meeting you prefer (Zoom, Phone, Skype, Facetime).
  2. Review the internship you're interested in with the appropriate Internship Coordinator to see if it might be approved for credit.
  3. Once you've received an official offer, fill out this FORM and ask your Internship Coordinator for their approval. The Internship Coordinator can sign the form or provide written approval via e-mail.
  4. Forward the form including your Internship Coordinator's signature/e-mail approval to Chelsea Ratell (Ratell.2@osu.edu). All students must be enrolled in FAES 3191 or SENR 3191 to receive credit for their internship. This is taken in addition to your departmental 4191 internship course (please contact your Internship Coordinator for more information regarding that). The 3191 is a 0-credit course that all students must be enrolled in while they are taking part in their internship experience. For example, if your internship takes place over the summer, you must be enrolled in the 3191 course for the summer semester. Student tuition and fees apply. Failure to enroll in this class will result in no academic credit.

See below for a list of CFAES Department Internship Coordinators:

Agribusiness and Applied Economics- Anna Parkman, parkman.6@osu.edu

Agricultural Communication- Emily Wickham, wickham.24@osu.edu

Agricultural Education- Dr. Caryn Filson, filson.5@osu.edu 

Agricultural Systems Management- Dr. Michael Lichtensteiger, lichtensteiger.2@osu.edu

Animal Science- Dr. Maurice L. Eastridge, eastridge.1@osu.edu

Community Leadership- Emily Wickham, wickham.24@osu.edu

Construction Systems Management- Jeffery Suchy, suchy.3@osu.edu

Entomology- Dr. Joe Raczkowski, raczkowski.2@osu.edu

Food, Agricultural, and Biological Engineering- Dr. Michael Lichtensteiger, lichtensteiger.2@osu.edu

Food Science and Technology - Dr. Mary Kay Pohlschneider, pohlschneider.1@osu.edu

Horticulture & Crop Sciences: Professional Golf Management- Timothy Kerr, kerr.176@osu.edu

Horticulture & Crop Sciences: Sustainable Plant Systems- Regina Vann Hickok, vann.5@osu.edu

Plant Pathology- Dr. Dominique Tate, tate.228@osu.edu

School of Environment and Natural Resources- Lucia Hadella, hadella.1@osu.edu